DELETE HISTORY

Private browsing

All of the main website browsers should have what is called a 'private browsing' mode that when used will no longer store the internet activity from your computer. It does not protect you from what online services can access but it will prevent a partner or whoever you feel at risk from, from being able to see that last pages you accessed on your computer, such as this site. It is an important step to take if you think that looking for help may put you at risk of abuse. You may also want to ensure that your browsing history is also clear. 

 

How to delete your browsing history

Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a ‘history’. To delete history for Internet Explorer and Firefox hold down the 'Ctrl' key on the keyboard, then press the 'H' key (Ctrl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that say [www.monacosaysnotoviolence] (or any other aid or refuge sites you have visited), right click and choose 'Delete'.

 

Emails

When protecting your computer you must also be sure to check you mailbox. It may be that an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages, or that you have been reaching our for help via e mail. In either case you must protect yourself. 

Received e mails can be printed and saved as proof of abuse or harassment. E mails you have sent that you do not want to be discovered will be saved in your 'sent items'. You must also be aware that if you delete them they will still be stored on the computer. You must make sure that you go to the 'deleted files/folder' section and select and delete again the e mails that you do not wish to be seen or that may put you at further risk. 

If you have begun to write an e mail but were unable or chose not to finish it, this too will not be automatically deleted, it will be stored in your 'drafts' folder so be sure to delete that from both the 'drafts' and the 'deleted items' boxes. 

Toolbars

When searching for a website in the Toolbar at the top of the screen, for example on Yahoo, Google, AOL, each of these search engines will keep a record of the search words that you have typed into the search box. It may also be a good idea to erase these if you suspect that a person partner that you feel at risk of may be checking your computer. To erase the search words you have typed you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose “Clear Search History”. But some others may be different. 

Microsoft Internet Explorer

Open the menu 'Tools'.

Chose 'Internet options', then select 'General'

Click on the button 'Delete history'

Click ok to close the question box

 

 

Mozilla Firefox

Open the menu «Tools».

Choose 'Options' then 'Privacy' then 'History'.

Click on «Delete».

Click 'OK' to close the question box.

 

 

Safari

Click on 'History' in the main menu.

Click on 'Delete History' at the bottom of the menu 

 

Chrome 

Go to History.

Scroll down and click Full History.

Select Browsing History and Cached Images and File.

Click Clear Data.